9 months, 9 bridesmaids

Only 9 more months until we make this thing official! In honor of 9 months until the wedding, I’d like to do a special post about my 9 lovely bridesmaids. I’ve already introduced them all to you, but now I’d like to tell you a little more about each one of them and our relationship.

Kristin: Kristin is my oldest sister. She wasn’t the most fond of me in the beginning because 1. I was born on her birthday, 2. I was not the brother she was hoping for. She quickly got over this when my parents allowed her to help name me. She spared me of being Catherine Victoria, and although that sounds like a princess name, I am thankful. Kristin has always been the cool big sister, and me the annoying little sister. She would let me hang out with her friends when they were over and always invited me a long to do things with her and have sleepovers. She shared with me a love of softball, and laughed at me when I quit and became a cheerleader. She introduced me to UC and sorority life, and I later followed in her footsteps. She is far braver than me and served time in the Ohio Air National Guard and for that among many other things I am so proud of her. She is a high school teacher and a busy mom of 7 year old twins, Elizabeth and Matthew. She has always been a great role model for me throughout my life and I am so happy to have her be a part of my wedding day as my matron of honor.

Laura: Laura is my middle sister. Laura and I are a little closer in age, so growing up I always wanted to do what she was doing. Ruffled socks, silky underwear and all. Again being the annoying little sister. She would “let” me constantly steal her clothes, and was honest with me about the awful hairstyle choices I made in junior high. She would let me come visit and stay with her in college, and I followed in her footsteps by pursuing a career in nursing. We also share a love for baking, T Swift, and PLL. Laura is now a mother of 3 sweet little ones, Lilly, Liam, & Gabriel, and they definitely keep her running. Like Kristin, Laura has always been a great example for me to look up to throughout my life and I am excited for her to be one of my bridesmaids.

Growing up with sisters is the best. You have a built in playmate, friend, & confidant. The relationships I have with my sisters keep getting better with time & I am so lucky to have both of them! Thanks mom and dad! Years ago we came up with a wedding strategy. Kristin was married first and Laura was her maid of honor. Laura was married next, I was her maid of honor. Now that I am getting married, Kristin is my matron of honor. This way we have all gotten a turn! It was an honor to be part of both of their big days, and I am excited to have them as a part of mine!

Peish: Peish was one of my very first friends in college. We met through our freshman roommates and have been friends for going on eight years now. We lived together and shared a wall for five years, and it’s been hard not getting to see her everyday. 😦 We’ve had many Valentine’s Day dates, even number shots, sleepovers, bowls of queso, & princess trips along the way. She may be a whale & pumpkin loving weirdo, but she’s my favorite one! In all seriousness, Peish has been a wonderful friend to me over the years. She’s beautiful, smart (the smartest person I’ve ever met), and caring and I’m not sure what I would do without her.

Sam: Sam is another one of my very first college friends. Lucky for us we joined the same sorority and lived in the same dorm, which meant lots of walks to and from the Tri Delt house together. We share a love for country music and have been mega ticket partners for a few years, unfortunately the traveling thing ruined that tradition, but I fully intend to restart it someday. My college & post grad years definitely would not have been nearly as fun as they were without Sam by my side. Not only beautiful, Sam is the most patient, supportive and sassy person (that’s her Kentucky roots!). I sometimes like to refer to her as “mom” because she always takes such good care of the people she loves.

Ashley: Instant bond for having such a great name. We are the reason each other was referred to by their last names growing up. I don’t even remember how long ago Ash and I met, which means its been a long time. Maybe 2nd grade? We grew up playing soccer and softball together and eventually cheered together as well. We have many wonderful memories throughout the years. I love Ashley because she’s not afraid to be herself and she doesn’t care about what other people think. She has been such a strong support system for me and I am so thankful for that. We have the kind of friendship that just picks up right where it left off no matter how long its been. Both she and her family mean so much to me. I am so proud of the mother she has become to her little man!

Traci: Traci came into my life about 5 years ago thanks to our men having such great taste in women. Traci is married to Scott, one of Doug’s longtime friends. Traci is one of the most fun people to be around, definitely never a dull moment with her. She is also someone that is very easy to talk to and confide in. I feel so lucky that the boys brought us together, but we now have a friendship that is all our own. I was honored to be in Traci’s wedding over the summer and am thrilled that she said yes to being by my side next year. Although our friendship is still fairly new, I know its going to last us far into the future!

Heather: Heather and I met in 5th grade, when she invited me to go skiing with her. From then on we had a pretty instant friendship. We were basically inseparable in high school and have so many wonderful memories together. Swim team, volleyball, soccer, and our perfect softball duo. (I was a pitcher, Heather a catcher, she would bribe me with hershey pies for strike outs!) So many sleepovers at Club Hump, making movies in the basement, and dancing to “Rocky Top” in the office, numerous SB trips, visits to Miami, every Rascal and Kenny concert that rolled through Columbus, visits to OSU, and getting signed out of school early to go on shopping trips to Easton. Heather is one of a kind. She would do anything for you in a second and she has always been there for me, I am so grateful for our friendship with each other and the friendship between our families.

Lauren: Lauren and I knew each other in college, but it wasn’t really until after college that we became good friends. Like Traci, the boys in our lives brought us together. Lauren is dating Alejo, another one of Doug’s longtime friends. Much like mentioned before, although the boys brought us together, we have a friendship that is very much our own. Lauren is one of the most genuine and kind people I have ever met. I know I can always count on Lauren to chase people down with me for McD’s french fries. We have so much fun together. I’m excited to see what the future has in store for our friendship, and am so glad she’s a part of our day!

Alaina: Alaina is so special to me. We have known each other for quite a while, middle school at least. We used to get into trouble together for sure! Alaina is one of the most trustworthy and caring people I know. If you needed her, she’d drop everything to help. She is silly and spunky and makes life so much fun. We have continued to grow our friendship over the last few years and I wouldn’t trade it for anything. She’s expecting her little boy any day now, and I am so excited to see her as a mother to Myer. I know she will be amazing!

These 9 gorgeous girls are 9 of the most important ladies in my life. Writing this I realized how many things they all have in common. They are all great friends with hearts of gold that have supported me, believed in me, and all had a part in Doug and I’s relationship. I am so lucky to have each and every one of them in my life and as part of my wedding day!

Cheers!

Ashley

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

