Bridal Bootcamp

As brides we all want to look and feel our best on our wedding day. Discomfort and self consciousness are not on my guest list. I won’t have those feelings hovering like a black cloud on the happiest day of my life. Throughout college and postgrad, I have steadily added on some pounds. I think back to high school and this phrase comes to mind, “I wish I was as skinny as when I thought I was fat”. It was much easier to stay in shape when you had organized sports with no option to skip practices and significantly less responsibilities. Now, I’m not completely unhappy with my body, but I’m not going to lie and say how I look now is what I want for myself. Before you get to preaching, I very well know body shaming has no benefit and I agree that we all need to stop this behavior. Thanks to Tri Delta’s Fat Talk Free Week and Reflections Body Image Program, as well as my newest edition that I’ll introduce later, I have been really striving to foster a more positive self image. With that being said, my fitness goals are not only about looking and feeling great in my dress, but about being my healthiest and best self.

Two things that have the biggest impact on my ability to stick with a fitness regimen are a set schedule and diversity. Not too long ago I discovered Katrina Scott & Karena Dawn of Tone It Up. These girls are not only beautiful with killer bods, but they are very inspirational and all a about empowering women to achieve their dreams. Using their new book, I completed 28 days to fit, fierce, and fabulous. The book offered me the things I need in a program, schedule, variety of workouts, as well as exercises for a healthier mind and body image and a yummy nutrition guide. I loved it!

image

Thanks to this book and my girl Gina at Skinnytaste, I am starting to see changes in my body. I am also feeling the benefit of added energy. I just made it through four 12 hour night shifts in a row and still managed to get up early for my workouts and to make a healthy dinner before heading out the door. This is quite an accomplishment for me as y’all know I love to sleep!

In effort to keep myself motivated all the way to next year, I went out on a limb and crossed off a second New Year’s resolution that’s also been on the list for a few years now. Running a half marathon. Fitness diversity! In July I signed up to run my first ever half, the Disney Princess Half Marathon. I figured if I’m going to be running for 13.1 miles, what better place to do it than the happiest place on earth?! The race is Sunday February 21, 2016, so I plan to start my 12 week training program at the end of November. I’m nervous and excited to take this challenge on, I know it will get me that much closer to reaching my goals.

I’m striving to keep things interesting and exciting and I must say living in Denver definitely helps. The people in this city are so active and there are endless options for fun fitness adventures. I’m looking forward to keeping this journey in motion and can’t wait to see where I’ll be by next year!

Cheers!

Ashley

One thought on “Bridal Bootcamp

  1. Pingback: Magical Miles | Wed On The Run

Leave a Reply

